Brisbane Asia Pacific Screen Awards 2015

They say there’s always a first time for everything. Last Thursday night I attended my first Brisbane Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) at City Hall in Brisbane.

In the awards nine years of running, the accolades have shone the spotlight on the film industry and it’s talents that make it up from across a number of Asia Pacific countries including Thailand, Russian Federation, Turkey, People’s Republic of China, Japan, Palestine, Korea, Taiwan, Japan and Australia.

The night got started with some of the biggest names in film nominated from these countries on the red carpet in King George Square outside of City Hall. I went along to take some photos and was really impressed with the great red carpet set up to welcome most of the foreign talent to our city.



Wearing Carla Zampati and holding a Louis Vutton clutch




003A2382 003A2379 003A2370 003A2368 003A2374 003A2364


The beautiful Sally from @Steelemystyle

003A2221 003A2212 003A2183 003A2175 003A2169 003A2167 003A2159 003A2151 003A2149 003A2133Shide Nyima Best Actor Nominee, People’s Republic of China

003A2088 003A2084 003A2061 003A2052


003A2385 003A2388 003A2395 003A2398

003A2116 003A2118 003A2123 003A2126 003A2266

Noni Buencamino and Shamaine Buencamino nominee for Best Performance by an Actress.  003A2281 003A2419 003A2285

Presenters Anthony Chen (Singapore) and Sofie Formica (Australia).

003A2287 003A2289

From Republic of Korea Jung Jaeyong (Right Now, Wrong Then) Best Performance by an Actor and Lee Yeong-lan (End of Winter) Best Performance by an Actress.

Check out my interview with Lee Young-Ian below:





Congratulations to all the nominees and winners:

  • Best Feature Film – Cemetery of Splendour (Rak ti Khon KaenThailand, Malaysia, France, Germany, United Kingdom)
  •  APSA UNESCO Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film – Palestinian director Hany Abu-Assad for The Idol (Ya Tayr El Tayer, Palestine, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Netherlands).
    • APSA UNESCO Award Special Mention – Stephen Page for Spear (Australia).
  • Achievement in Directing – Russian director Alexey German Jr for Under Electric Clouds (Pod elektricheskimi oblakami, Russian Federation, Ukraine, Poland)
  • Best Performance by an Actor – Korean superstar Jung Jaeyoung for his role in Right Now, Wrong Then(Jigeumeun Matgo Geuttaeneun Teullida, Republic of Korea) by Korean auteur Hong Sang-soo.
  • Best Performance by an Actress – Kirin Kiki, one of the most influential actresses in Japan, for An (Japan, France, Germany)
    • Best Performance by an Actress special mention – Iranian actress Fatemeh Motamed Arya for her performance in Avalanche (Bahman, Islamic Republic of Iran).
  • Achievement in Cinematography – Mark Lee Ping-bing for Hou Hsiao-hsien’s The Assassin(Nie Yinniang, Taiwan)
    • Special Mention for Achievement in Cinematography – Lu Songye for Tharlo (People’s Republic of China).
  • Best Screenplay – writer/director Senem Tüzen for Motherland(Ana Yurdu, Turkey, Greece).
  • Jury Grand Prizes for 2015 – Park Jungbum for writing/directing/acting in Alive (Sanda, Republic of Korea) and Emin Alper for writing and directing Frenzy (Abluka, Turkey, Qatar, France)
  • Best Youth Feature Film – River (Gtsngbo, People’s Republic of China), produced by Sangye and Alexandra Sun, co-produced by Pema Tseden and Du Qingchun
  • Best Documentary Feature Film – The Chinese Mayor (Datong, People’s Republic of China), produced by Zhao Qi.
  • Best Animated Feature Film – Miss Hokusai (Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai, Japan), produced by Keiko Matsushita and Asako Nishikawa
  • Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific region – Egyptian screen icon Esaad Younis.
  • APSA Academy NETPAC Development Prize – Director Mirlan Abdykalykov for his debut feature film Heavenly Nomadic (Sutak) from Kyrgyzstan.

003A2462 003A2470

003A2481 003A2482


003A2540 003A2548

003A2552 003A2575 003A2490 003A2501 003A2503 003A2506 003A2508 003A2509 003A2512 003A2621 003A2627

003A2586 003A2593





Behind the scenes of the awards, I had fun spending time with some new photographers I met. I also had the chance to meet the Korean nominated stars and congratulate two of the country’s successful winners Jung Jaeyoung (Right Now, Wrong Then) Best Performance by an Actor from Republic of Korea and Park Jungbum (Alive, Republic of Korea) nominee for Best Feature Film.

12341296_10153077281886152_2945838349555328835_n 12311133_10153077280831152_5498302003561713300_n 12316371_10153077279631152_5543757862768181883_n 12341024_10153077279066152_7211647696440690464_n 12289610_10153077278346152_7661207363402249964_n

So proud of Korea to of Jung Jaeyong (Right Now, Wrong Then) to win the Best Performance by an Actor category. I caught up with him after the awards.


The beautiful Reena Augustine from Moments Photography and I on the red carpet.

Thanks also to Reena below for the photo taken of Kim Dong-ho, the 2015 APSA International Jury President and Busan International Film Festival Director and I during the awards.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s